Applying in Person
Applicants are required to apply in person, show picture ID, complete a marriage license application, and pay a fee.
If one applicant cannot apply in person, an additional form will be given to the other applicant when they appear in person to complete the application. This supplemental form for party not appearing will need to be notarized before being returned to our office.
If either party has been previously married and the marriage was terminated (death, divorce or annulment), the date, city, state, and court of termination, if applicable, needs to be provided. Additionally, if the divorce took place within the previous 6 months, we need to view the divorce papers when you come in to apply for your license.
Applicants must be 18 years of age or older. Applicants ages 16 to 17 can obtain a license with consent of the minor's legal custodial parents/guardian by completing additional forms which require approval by a court judge. Contact the Recorder's Office for forms and additional information.
Applicants requesting a name change that have a felony conviction on or after August 1st, 2000 must complete additional paperwork and are subject to a 30 day waiting period.
You do not need to be a resident of Minnesota to obtain a Civil Marriage License in Minnesota.
No blood tests are required.