Real Estate Fee Schedule
Recording Fee - Abstract Property
$46 (no page limit)
$10 for each additional document number cited over 4 - Recording of Satisfaction, Partial Release or Assignment.
$56 Plat Recording Fee
$40 Well Certificate
Related Miscellaneous Fees
$2 attested copies
$1 per page for copies
$10 - Certified Copy (no page limit)
$5 fax or e-mail plus $1 per page
$20 Tax Lien Search per name
$10 Copy of a Plat
$30 Non Sufficient Funds (NSF) Fee
507.093, Minnesota Statutes 2006
507.093 STANDARDS FOR DOCUMENTS TO BE RECORDED OR FILED.
The following standards are imposed on documents to be recorded with the county recorder
or the registrar of titles:
(1) The document shall consist of one or more individual sheets measuring no larger than 8.5
inches by 14 inches.
(2) The form of the document shall be printed, typewritten, or computer generated in black
ink and the form of the document shall not be smaller than 8-point type.
(3) The document shall be on white paper of not less than 20-pound weight with no
background color or images and, except for the first page, shall have a border of at least one-half
inch on the top, bottom, and each side.
(4) The first page of the document shall contain a blank space at the top measuring three
inches, as measured from the top of the page, and a border of one-half inch on each side and the
bottom. The right half of the blank space shall be reserved for recording information and the
left half shall be reserved for tax certification. Any person may attach an administrative page
before the first page of the document to accommodate this standard. The administrative page may
contain the document title, document date, and, if applicable, the grantor and grantee, and shall be
deemed part of the document when recorded.
(5) The title of the document shall be prominently displayed at the top of the first page below
the blank space referred to in clause (4), or on the administrative page.
(6) No additional sheet shall be attached or affixed to a page that covers up any information
or printed part of the form.
(7) A document presented for recording must be sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable
copy using the county recorder's or registrar of title's current method of reproduction.
History: 1996 c 338 art 3 s 1; 2000 c 275 s 2; 2002 c 365 s 1; 2005 c 156 art 2 s 40;
2006 c 222 s 1
Copyright © 2006 by the Office of Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota.
Minnesota Statute 287.21 provides for deed tax to be paid on deeds to be recorded. The rate is .0033 of the purchase price. (Example: $105,250 X .0033 = $347.33 deed tax). The minimum deed tax amount is $1.65. For payment of Deed Tax, please make checks payable to the Polk County Treasurer.
Mortgage Registration Tax
Minnesota Statute 287.035 provides for mortgage registration tax to be paid on mortgages to be recorded. The rate is .0023 of the debt secured. (Example: $105,250 X .0023 = $242.08 mortgage registration tax). For payment of Mortgage Registration Tax, please make checks payable to the Polk County Treasurer.
Certificates of Real Estate Value
Certificates of Real Estate Value (CRV) are required by the State of Minnesota when recording a document that transfers property with a purchase price of over $1,000. The Polk County Auditor collects the CRVs as part of the preliminary recording process.
Well Disclosure Certificates
When transferring property, a Well Disclosure Certificate may be required. If there are no wells on the property, the transfer document must contain a statement attesting to this fact, such as:
“The seller certifies that the seller does NOT know of any wells on the described real property.”
If there is a well(s) located on the property, a completed Well Disclosure Certificate must accompany the transferring document.
If the seller can make the following statement on the transferring document, a Well Disclosure Certificate is not needed:
“I am familiar with the property described in this instrument and I certify that the status and the number of wells on the described real property have not changed since the last previously filed well disclosure certificate.”
To find out if a previously filed Well Certificate is on file with the Minnesota Department of Health, call from MN 1-800-383-9808 or outside MN 651-215-0819 or search the Minnesota Department of Health’s Well Disclosure Database.
The Well Disclosure Certificate form is available on the Polk County Recorder’s Download Forms Page and on the Minnesota Department of Health's web site.
Plats and/or Subdivisions
A “Plat” includes a map of a tract of land subdivided into lots, with streets, alleys, etc. drawn to scale showing dimensions according to Minnesota Statue 505. A plat also includes formalities such as the owners' certificate, surveyor's certificate and various signatures of governmental officers to show approval. The most common reason an owner would choose to plat is so lots can be defined and sold. A recorded plat will change the legal description as defined by the plat. The most common example of a platted legal description would be: Lot 2, Block 1, Any Name Addition to the City of Glyndon, Clay County, Minnesota.
A Common Interest Community (CIC) plat is another type of plat which often includes units and common areas according to Minnesota Statute 515B or 505.
Required Copies When Recording a Plat
- 1 official hard copy
- 1 hard copy
- 1 Mylar
- 1-11x17 copy.