Frequently Asked Questions
How do I get a marriage license?
If you are getting married in Minnesota, you need to purchase a license in Minnesota. Both the bride and groom need to apply for a license, show picture ID, include Social Security numbers, and pay a fee. There is a waiting period of 5 days. The license is good for 6 months. If either party has been previously married and the marriage was terminated (death, divorce or annulment), the date of termination and by what court, if applicable, needs to be included. You must be 18 years of age or older to get a marriage license in Minnesota without parental consent. A 16-17 year old can obtain a marriage license if the bride and groom each complete a set of forms and the underage party’s parents fill out a set of forms. A judge will review the forms and meet with bride, groom and parents. If the judge approves the marriage, a license will be issued.
You do not need to be a resident or have blood tests to get a marriage license in Minnesota.
Can I get a reduced marriage license fee?
You can save a portion of the fee on your marriage license if you bring in a “Reduced Marriage Fee Educators Statement” when you apply for your license. The statement needs to be signed by a licensed or ordained minister or a person authorized to solemnize marriage under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33.
Can I get a copy of a birth certificate?
The Recorder’s Office can make certified copies of most Minnesota births. A requester can apply for a certified copy of their own record or their child's, their parent's, their grandchild's or grandparent’s record by filling out a birth application form and showing a government issued picture ID. A requester can also obtain a certified birth record under certain other legal circumstances. Call the Recorder’s Office to determine if they have the record available 218-281-3464.
How can I search a property?
The records in the Polk County Recorder's Office can be viewed Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. at 612 North Broadway, Crookston, MN. If you have a document number and need a copy mailed or faxed, the Polk County Recorder’s Office will be happy to help you at the time of payment.
Recording is the first priority. If a request is mailed or faxed, we will do limited research at no charge as we have time available. If the search requires more time, the fee is $30/hour with a $15 minimum. There is a charge for copies and faxing. Requests are processed in the order they are received. If you need research done quickly, contact an abstractor, attorney, title company or some other type of researcher to help you.
Are there any liens on this property?
The Recorder's Office has information on record for several property liens. The records are open to the public. The most common lien is a mortgage on real estate. A mortgage would include information about the lending institution, the mortgage amount and the due date or enough information to calculate a due date.
Mechanic's liens are liens for unpaid work done on the property. You can search by name for State and Federal Tax liens. The Recorder’s Office staff will do a Tax Lien Search for a fee per name (UCC-12 Form), or you can search the records yourself at no cost.
Judgments will show on an abstract but the information is obtained through the Polk Court Administration Office. When an abstract is brought up to date, an abstract company does various searches in and outside of the courthouse. Searching for liens in the courthouse is not the same as bringing an abstract up to date. Most lending institutions will require an attorney to do a title opinion after an abstract is brought up to date to determine if there are liens on the property.
Where can I get real estate forms?
Polk County does not sell any legal real estate forms. Real Estate forms can be obtained from a bank, an attorney’s office or online.
Does the Recorder's Office provide notary services?
The Polk County Recorder’s Office has three notaries available. Any person wishing to have a document notarized must provide appropriate identification for this service, and all signatures must be completed in the presence of the notary.
Are well certificates required on all deeds?
When transferring property, a Well Disclosure Certificate may be required. If there are no wells on the property, the transfer document must contain a statement attesting to this fact, such as:
"The seller certifies that the seller does NOT know of any wells on the described real property."
If there is a well(s) located on the property, a completed Well Disclosure Certificate must accompany the transferring document.
If the seller can make the following statement on the transferring document, a Well Disclosure Certificate is not needed:
"I am familiar with the property described in this instrument and I certify that the status and the number of wells on the described real property have not changed since the last previously filed Well Disclosure Certificate."
The Well Disclosure Certificate form, in addition to further information regarding wells, is available on the downloadable forms page and at the Minnesota Department of Health's web site.
Does the Polk County Recorder perform abstracting services?
The Polk County Recorder’s Office does not provide abstracting services. You may contact Stranders 218-281-1191 an independent abstract company for abstracting services.
Will the Recorder's Office help me fill out my forms?
No one in the Recorder's Office has a license to practice law, so you will need to contact your own attorney for legal advice and for help completing forms.
Is this land torrens or abstract?
All parcels of land in Polk County are abstract.
How do you get a passport?
Passport information is available on the Recorder’s Office U.S.Passport page. For FAQs regarding passports see the U.S. Department of State Passport Services and Information FAQ web page (www.travel.state.gov/).