The marriage license fee for applicants who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is $40 cash only. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee the applicants must submit, at the time of applying for the marriage license, a signed, dated and notarized Reduced Marriage Fee Educators Statement (PDF) from the person who provided the premarital education on their letterhead confirming the education was received.
The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, Section 517.18 or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, Section 148B.33. The education must include the use of premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
If applicants cannot provide a completed Reduced Marriage Fee Educators Statement at time of application, the full cost for a Civil Marriage License of $115 cash only will be required.